With the 2014 Winter Olympics well underway, we thought we would share 5 facts about the Olympics we found interesting.


Mënaji Skincare


#1  Sochi has had time to get their game face on! Due to its popularity among tourists, historic characteristics, sports venues and proximity to the Caucasus Mountains, the International Olympic Committee selected Sochi as the site of the 2014 Winter Olympics back on July 4, 2007.  Yes, 7 years ago!  A city on the Black Sea, this location is unique in that it is not particularly cold in the Winter. With temperatures currently in the 50′s as of this post, to ensure the games will go on, they have had snow flown in for many of the events.

#2  Lost, stolen or damaged medal?  No problem because Olympians receive special help. Insurer Liberty Mutual is partnering with the U.S. Olympic Committee to cover the medals at no cost to athletes for the 2014 and 2016 Games. Liberty Mutual will insure each medal for $5,000, factoring in the labor to make replicas and shipping costs.

#3  Be sure to give three cheers to Norway. A nation of 5 million people, about the same as the population of Alabama, Norway, per capita, has won one Winter Olympic medal for every 16,556 residents. The United States, on the other hand, has one medal for every 1,237,154 residents. However, we all hope that we can change this over the coming days.

#4  What’s the age of an Olympian? Well, freeskier Maggie Voisin is the USA’s youngest Olympian at the Sochi Games, at age 15. The oldest woman to compete in the Olympics was British rider Lorna Johnstone, who participated in Equestrian at the 1972 Olympic Games at 70 years.   The oldest ever Olympian is Oscar Swahn of Sweden who was was 72 years, 281 days old when he competed at the 1920 Olympics in shooting.  Age doesn’t matter and everyone put their gold medal face on!

#5   Why 5 Rings?  The Olympic symbol of five interlocking rings, colored blue, yellow, black, green, and red on a white field was originally designed in 1912 by Baron Pierre de Coubertin, co-founder of the modern Olympic Games.  The ring colors with the white background stand for those colors that appeared on all the national flags that competed in the Olympic games at that time.

Posted in General Category | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Camo Concealers - The New Eye Black


The big day is Sunday and “eye black “, a dark cosmetic applied under the eyes and intended to reduce glare, will be found on and off the field as both teams and spectators get ready!   Available at sports shops everywhere, eye black is commonly worn by baseball and American football players, all the way down to high school teams. Used to make it less likely for a player to lose an incoming airborne ball against the glare of the sun or stadium lights, it even comes multiple colors and in a waterproof formula for use by surfers too!

The history behind eye black is pretty cool.  Although its origins in baseball are more obscure, according to a study by Yale University , there is evidence of eye black use dating back to a 1942 photograph of a Washington Redskins player named Andy Farkas.  A traditional compound of carbon, paraffin wax, and beeswax , today’s eye black is more cosmetic and is applied differently than when players first rubbed a burnt cork under their eyes.

A second plus, the stickiness of modern eye black also allows it to act as a dust trap, useful in keeping grit from getting in the eyes of players. Many other substances have been tried, ranging from hockey tape to patented antiglare stickers: but none seem to work as well in negating glare and ensuring a player sees his best. NOTE: A trend in recent years saw a number of players painting their entire faces in eye black, but in professional leagues this usage is heavily fined.

What happens after the game? Men are adding color of a different kind in the form of concealers to hide natural dark circles under the eyes and improve overall skin tones.  A trend that continues to rise and not be seen, concealers blend with the natural color of a man’s skin. And, while a lack of sleep usually takes the natural blame for your dark circles, the real culprits are your parents!   Yes, that’s right, dark circles can be an inherited trait that is only made worse by poor diet and late night partying….kind of like what you plan to do watching the Super Bowl!

So, don’t be shy, your sports heroes use a cosmetic product under their eyes and you should too. A discreet , undetectable product, concealers are used for spot coverage anywhere needed (under eyes, blemishes, razor bumps, age spots), and not applied to the whole face. All you have to do is apply a small amount to problem areas by using your index finger or using directly from the tube. Lightly & very gently blend onto skin by patting with fingertip.
You can also tap down the bridge of your nose and out around the cheek over any discolored areas and reapply as needed.

Have a great looking Super Bowl!

Posted in General Category | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment


Ever wonder what’s a personal skincare consultation and if you want one? We are giving you the chance to be in the know as part of our Super Bowl Giveaway!

You’ll receive a personal walk-through on what you need to do to achieve better looking skin in a 30 minute consultation with Mënaji Skincare founder Michele Probst.

Everything you do affects your skin. From your diet, to exercise, to daily water intake, to how much sleep you have, your skin relies on you for its healthy glow. Michele will get to know you and your habits, plus provide a skin shade analysis so as to determine a daily regime using your winning Mënaji Skincare products.

But she will not just send you on your way. Michele is going to be available for you, for a period of time, to make sure that you and your skin are getting on the right path to looking your very best.

Have you entered yet?  Click here.


Posted in General Category | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment